Organization: Art Room Tour 2013: General Displays

As promised ever so long ago, I am posting an update to my art room tour from the past. I thought I would break this tour up into different areas, starting with displays. I photographed my most basic art room and art displays before dismantling everything at the end of the school year so that I could share them here.

front board displayHere is a view of the front of my classroom. Each day as students arrive at the art room I greet them at my doorway and when they are quiet they are invited to enter the art room and join me on the carpet at the front of the room. I was lucky enough to be in the right place at the right time to receive this big world map rug a few months before I moved into my new classroom. It is large enough to hold an entire class of K-4th graders, but just a little small for 5th and 6th graders. rules consequences and white board display

Here you can see a better view of the information displayed on or near the whiteboard. I always have my art room rules and consequences on display- we review them as necessary. I also always have my ART noise control system on display. This seems to be a pretty commonly used system for noise control in the art room. If student noise is out of hand they lose the T- a warning to control their volume. If noise continues to be a problem, They lose the R, which means a silent all class timeout. Students are asked to put their heads down and take a silent break. Loosing the A means the class is done talking for the rest of their art time. I also keep other general info such as my weekly schedule ad Think Sheets handy on the board, as well as artwork given to me by students, and examples of collaborative art projects I am working on with various classes or work done in my after school art class.white board display

In the photo above you can see how I display the most important information related to the lesson. On the whiteboard to the left I post the daily challenge- what we are trying to accomplish with our art lesson. This information is broken down into the individual standards we address as stated on our elementary progress reports. Students are assessed in five different areas: the art making process, skills in media techniques and craftsmanship, personally meaningful content, and understanding of art history, aesthetics, and vocabulary, as well as effort. As I introduce our work for the day I review the specific items on which students will be assessed. I also include a teacher or student example of completed artwork so the students have an example of what they are expected to complete, including the quality of craftsmanship I intend to see.stitchery techniques chart

In the first photo you can also see that I have a chart rack where I display the media techniques my students are expected to learn. I like to keep the techniques related to the current media on display at all times so that my students can refer to it as needed while they work. Above you can see an example of my stitchery techniques chart.

I also have three bulletin boards in my classroom that are always on display. The one I refer to the most is my color bulletin board. I need to update my color wheel so that I can fit more of the color families on this bulletin board. It would be nice to have room for tints, shades, and maybe analogous color family examples too.principles and color bulletin board display

You can also see in this photo that I have the elements and principles on display at all times as well. In the following photo you will see my elements display. I love the elements and principles display cards from Crystal Productions- they are small enough that you can have them on display at all times, but large enough that there is a clear visual example of the element or principle that I can refer to when discussing something new. The Elements and Principles headings were printed and decorated by my student teacher last year. We laminated them and I am saving them to use again next year.

elements and big idea bulletin board displayHere you can see my second bulletin board- What’s the Big Ideas? Each of our grade level program of studies is focused on a big idea. Students explore the big idea for their grade level in every art work they create. At the beginning of the year my big idea bulletin board displayed an example and big idea label for each grade level. Second quarter I switched to just examples, and my students discussed how the examples might relate to the big idea for their grade level.

finished early and ipad station bulletin board displayLast you can see the bulletin board near the back of my room where my iPad station is located. This year I was lucky enough to purchase four iPads with money I raised through our Square 1 Art fundraiser and after school art class over the past two years. The iPad station is used when students have the option of creating an alternate assignment to the one we are currently working on. the iPads are located on a half circle/horseshoe table at the back of my room, and the bulletin board displays the icons for various apps we have installed on our iPads, as well as the iPad rules for student use.

About Sarah DeWitt Brooks

I am an elementary art teacher for grades K-6 in Northern Virginia. I am trying to find the balance between creating lessons that are personally meaningful to my students while teaching and reinforcing 21st century skills and visual art skills and techniques. I am also interested in integrating technology for instruction and student artmaking in my classroom. On the side, I am a mixed media artist dabbling in drawing, painting, printmaking, art journaling and digital photography.
This entry was posted in Art Room, Organization and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Organization: Art Room Tour 2013: General Displays

  1. roylcoblog says:

    Awesome work! Your classroom resources are so inspirational! I bet that, despite the number of students, there is enough structure to provide an open but organised environment for aspiring artists to flex their skills. Thank you for the tour!

Leave a Reply

