Advocacy: Great School Arts Article by Rama Hughes

This afternoon I read the greatest art advocacy article in the latest issue of School Arts magazine. Written by Rama Hughes, this article about the importance of art as a life skill and visual language struck a chord in me, and I hope every art educator uses it as an advocacy tool. Read it for yourself here: On Art and Art Education

About Sarah DeWitt Brooks

I am an elementary art teacher for grades K-6 in Northern Virginia. I am trying to find the balance between creating lessons that are personally meaningful to my students while teaching and reinforcing 21st century skills and visual art skills and techniques. I am also interested in integrating technology for instruction and student artmaking in my classroom. On the side, I am a mixed media artist dabbling in drawing, painting, printmaking, art journaling and digital photography.
This entry was posted in Advocacy, Articles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

